Skip to Main Content

Medical Record Technicians

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Medical record technicians who have completed an accredited training program are eligible to take a national qualifying examination to earn the credential of registered health information technician (RHIT). Most health care institutions prefer to hire individuals with an RHIT credential as it signifies that they have met the standards established by the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) as the mark of a qualified health professional. AHIMA also offers certification to medical coders, health information administrators, and other health information professionals. Medical record technicians may also receive coding credentials from the AAPC, Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity, Board of Medical Specialty Coding and Compliance, National Cancer Registrars Association, Practice Management Institute, and the Professional Association of Healthcare Coding Specialists.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.