Skip to Main Content

Medical Transcriptionists

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

The Association for Healthcare Documentation Integrity (AHDI) offers voluntary certification to medical transcriptionists. Recent graduates of medical transcription education programs who have fewer than two years’ experience in acute care can earn the registered healthcare documentation specialist (RHDS) designation. RHDSs with a minimum of two years’ experience in acute-care transcription or multispecialty equivalent can earn the certified healthcare documentation specialist (CHDS) designation. Taking and passing an examination is required to earn each certification credential. 

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.