Skip to Main Content

Geographic Information Systems Specialists

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

GIS specialists can receive voluntary certification from the GIS Certification Institute. Applicants must have a baccalaureate degree in any field, course work and other documented education in GIS and geospatial data technologies, work experience in a GIS-related position, and participate in conferences or GIS-related events. Applicants who meet all certification requirements may use the designation GIS professional. Certification must be renewed every three years. Certification is also offered by the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.