Skip to Main Content

Military Police

Advancement Prospects

Military police advance to higher ranks and more authority with years of experience and additional training. All of the military branches have nine enlisted grades (E-1 through E-9) and 10 officers' grades (O-1 through O-10). The higher the number is, the more advanced a person's rank. The criteria for promoting individuals varies depending on the military branch, but in general, promotions depend on factors such as time served, demonstrated abilities, recommendations, and scores on written exams. Promotions become increasingly competitive as people advance in rank. On average, a diligent enlisted person can expect to earn one of the middle non-commissioned or petty officer rankings (E-4 through E-6); some officers can expect to reach lieutenant colonel or commander (O-5). Outstanding individuals may be able to advance beyond these levels.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.