Skip to Main Content

Automobile Service Technicians

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Automobile service technicians may be certified by the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) in one or more of 16 automotive specialty areas such as alternate fuels, light duty hybrid/electric vehicles, advanced engine performance, damage analysis, collision repair, and engine repair. Those who become certified in multiple areas are known as master mechanics. Although certification is voluntary, it is a widely recognized standard of achievement for automobile technicians and is highly valued by many employers. Certification also provides the means and opportunity to advance. To maintain their certification, technicians must retake the examination for their specialties every five years. Many employers only hire ASE-accredited technicians and base salaries on the level of the technicians' accreditation. 

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.