Skip to Main Content

Elder Law Attorneys

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Specialized voluntary certification is available for elder law attorneys. The National Elder Law Foundation offers certification to attorneys who have been in practice five years or longer, have spent at least 16 hours per week practicing elder law (during the three years preceding their application), have handled at least 60 elder law matters, have had at least 45 hours of continuing legal education in elder law, and have met other requirements. To obtain certification, applicants must also pass an examination. After five years, certified attorneys must be recertified to maintain their status. Additionally, the National Board of Trial Advocacy offers voluntary board certification in civil law, family law, social security disability advocacy law, and other areas. Contact the board for more information.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.