Skip to Main Content

Court Reporters

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

The National Court Reporters Association offers several certification credentials for its members. To receive the registered professional reporter certification, you must pass a written knowledge test and an online skills test. The NRCA says that 81 percent of certificants say that their RPR designation is "valuable to them as individual reporters," and 94 percent say RPR certification is "an important part of the court reporting profession." The registered merit reporter certification means you have passed an exam with speeds up to 260 words per minute. The registered diplomate reporter certification is obtained by passing a multiple-choice written knowledge test that focuses on the following areas: technology; industry practices; business practices; and the NCRA, professionalism, and ethics. This certification shows that the court reporter has gained valuable professional knowledge and experience through years of reporting. The certified real-time reporter certification is given to reporters who have obtained the specialized skill of converting the spoken word into written word within seconds. Several other specialized certifications are available, including the registered apprentice reporter, certified realtime captioner, and certified legal video specialist designations.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.