Skip to Main Content

Surgical Technologists

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Increasing numbers of hospitals are requiring certification as a condition of employment. Surgical technologists may earn a professional credential by passing a nationally administered certifying examination. To take the examination, you must be currently or previously certified or be a graduate of a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program. The National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (NBSTSA) is the certifying agency for the profession. Those who pass the exam and fulfill education and experience requirements are granted the designation of certified surgical technologist (CST). To renew one's certification, the CST must earn continuing education credits or retake the certifying examination. The NBSTSA also offers an advanced credential for surgical first assistants; this exam awards the designation of certified surgical first assistant.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions