Skip to Main Content

Occupational Health Nurses

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Licensing is mandatory to practice as a registered nurse. On the other hand, certification is voluntary and can be obtained through the American Board for Occupational Health Nurses (ABOHN). Certification reflects a mastery of the specialty practice in occupational health. Three levels of certification are available, depending on a candidate's level of education and experience: Individuals can become a certified occupational health nurse (COHN), a certified occupational health nurse-specialist (COHN-S), or a case manager (CM).

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions