Skip to Main Content

Osteopathic Physicians

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

The American Osteopathic Association (AOA) offers board certification, which entails passing a comprehensive written exam as a well as a practical test demonstrating osteopathic manipulative techniques. The AOA offers specialty certification in 29 primary areas. To retain certification, physicians must complete 120 hours of continuing education within a three-year period. Continuing education can be acquired in a variety of ways, including attending professional conferences, completing education programs sponsored by the AOA, teaching osteopathic medicine, and publishing articles in professional journals. Some osteopathic physicians are certified by both the AOA and the American Medical Association.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions