Skip to Main Content

Critical Care Nurses

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Some institutions may require certification as a critical care nurse. The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses offers more than 10 critical care nursing certification credentials to those who are registered nurses or advanced practice registered nurses and who pass an examination. In addition, registered nurses, regardless of specialty, must be licensed in order to practice in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories. Licensing is obtained by graduating from an approved nursing program and passing the National Council Licensure Examination.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions