Skip to Main Content

Diagnostic Medical Sonographers

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

After completing their degrees, sonographers may register with the American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography. Registration allows qualified sonographers to take the national boards to obtain certification, which, although optional, is frequently required by employers. Four registration categories are available to sonographers: registered diagnostic medical sonographer, registered diagnostic cardiac sonographer, registered vascular technologist, and registered musculoskeletal sonographer.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions