Skip to Main Content

Medical Assistants

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Voluntarily certification is available from certain professional organizations. The registered medical assistant credential is awarded by American Medical Technologists, and the American Association of Medical Assistants awards a credential for certified medical assistant. The National Center for Competency Testing awards the national certified medical assistant designation. The National Healthcareer Association awards several designations, including the certified clinical medical assistant and certified medical administrative assistant designations. Ophthalmic assistants can receive the following designations from the Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology: certified ophthalmic assistant, certified ophthalmic technician, certified ophthalmic medical technologist, and corporate certified ophthalmic assistant. The American Society of Podiatric Medical Assistants offers the podiatric medical assistant, certified designation. Medical assistants generally do not need to be licensed. Some states require medical assistants to pass a test or take a course before they can perform certain tasks like taking X-rays.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions