Skip to Main Content

Ophthalmic Medical Technologists

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Many employers require ophthalmic medical technologists hold the Certified Ophthalmic Medical Technologist designation. The Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology offers various levels of certification, including: Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (COA), Certified Ophthalmic Technician (COT), Certified Ophthalmic Medical Technologist (COMT), and Ophthalmic Surgical Assisting (OSA). Other certifications include Corporate Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (CCOA) and Ophthalmic Scribe Certification (OSC). Eligibility for the COMT designation requires achieving the COA and COT levels, or training program graduation. Technologists must meet education and experience requirements and pass a two-part examination. Find certification information at

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions