Skip to Main Content

Clinical Nurse Specialists

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

National certification exams are offered by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) in various clinical specialties, although not all states require these examinations or recognize clinical nurse specialist status. The ANCC offers specialty examinations in adult health, adult-gerontology, adult psychiatric–mental health, child/adolescent psychiatric–mental health, gerontological, home health, pediatric, and public/community health.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions