Skip to Main Content

Geospatial Analytics Specialists

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Geospatial analytics specialists can receive voluntary certification from the GIS Certification Institute. Applicants must have at least four years of experience, pass an examination, and meet other requirements. The exam tests students’ knowledge in the following areas: Conceptual Foundations, Geospatial Data Fundamentals, Cartography & Visualization, Data Acquisition, Data Manipulation, Analytical Methods, Database Design & Management, Application Development, Systems Design & Management, and Professional Practice. Applicants who meet the certification requirements can use the designation GIS professional. Visit to learn more.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions