Skip to Main Content

Emergency Medical Technicians

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

All 50 states have some EMT certification requirement. Certification is only open to those who have completed the standard basic training course. Some states offer new EMTs the choice of the National Registry examination or the state's own certification examination. A majority of states accept national registration in place of their own examination for EMTs who relocate to their states.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions