Skip to Main Content

Border Patrol Agents

Advancement Prospects

CBP agents begin at the GS-5, GS-7, or GS-9 levels. Pre-academy training is provided at an agent's duty station, along with basic training at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center (FLETC). From there, agents may progress to the journeyman levels, where they "typically gain responsibilities, learn new duties, and are held accountable to higher performance standards." Advancement through the GS-12 level is non-competitive.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions