Skip to Main Content


Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Certification, while not required, will enhance your professional image in the eyes of potential employers. ASIS International administers the certified protection professional program. Applicants must have a certain amount of education or professional experience and pass a multiple choice exam focusing on seven areas of security management: security principles and practices, business principles and practices, personnel security, physical security, information security, crisis management, and investigations. ASIS International also offers the associate protection professional designation to individuals with one to four years of experience in security management, as well as the physical security professional designation to those whose responsibilities include conducting physical security assessments and developing or working with integrated security systems.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions