Skip to Main Content

Hospice Workers

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

The certification or licensing requirements are determined by the medical specialty or professional career that you wish to pursue. Some associations provide hospice-related certification credentials. For example, the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine offers certification to physicians who specialize in hospice and palliative care, as well a certification credential for hospice medical directors. The National Association of Social Workers offers the advanced certified hospice and palliative social worker certification and other credentials. The Board of Chaplaincy Certification Inc., an affiliate of the Association of Professional Chaplains, offers the board certified chaplain and associate certified chaplain credentials. The Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association offers a variety of credntials, including the certified hospice and palliative nurse, advanced certified hospice and palliative nurse, certified hospice and palliative pediatric nurse, and certified in perinatal loss care credentials. Certification is also offered by the American Nurses Credentialing Center and other nursing organizations. Finally, the National Association for Home Care and Hospice offers certification for home care and hospice executives.Licernsing is also required for nurses, physicians, and other health care workers.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions