Skip to Main Content

Community Health Workers

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Community health workers in some states must be certified in order to provide services to clients. Some states operate their own certification programs, while others authorize private providers to create and run the program. The Association of State and Territorial Health Officials reports that state-operated certification programs are available in Arizona, Connecticut, Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Oregon, and Texas. Privately operated certification programs are found in Florida, Michigan, Missouri, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Virginia.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions