Skip to Main Content

Geriatric Nurses

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

Certification is available from the American Nurses Credentialing Center and is highly recommended. Candidates with one of the three educational backgrounds (associate's degrees, diplomas, and bachelor's degrees), current RN licenses, and a certain amount of experience in the area of practice (gerontology) are eligible to take specialty and informatics exams. Upon passing one of these tests, they are board certified and can use the initials RN-BC after their names. They can also earn become certified as gerontological clinical nurse specialists, adult-gerontology clinical nurse specialists, adult-gerontology acute care nurse practitioners, and in other categories. Additionally, the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses offers several applicable certifications.

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions