Skip to Main Content

Customer Service Representatives

Certification, Licensing, and Special Requirements

Certification or Licensing

The National Customer Service Association offers the certified customer service professional credential to those who have worked in the field for at least two years, have completed an educational program, and passed an examination (that covers the following topical areas: Foundations of Service, Human Dynamics, Customer Interaction, Employer Development). The International Customer Service Association, HDI, and the Customer Service Institute of America also offer certification. Certification may be required if customer service representatives work in financial services or the insurance industry. Most industries, however, don't require certification, but becoming certified can give customer service representatives an advantage in the job market. 

Join Vault Gold to unlock this premium content

Earnings - Outlook - Resources & Associations and more

Are you a student? You may have FREE access.

Vault partners with thousands of colleges, universities and academic institutions to provide students with FREE access to our premium content. To determine if your school is a partner, please enter your school email address below.

Related Professions
Featured Companies